Mary in the image of a miraculous Pietà has been worshiped in Jarosław Basilica of Our Lady of Sorrow for more than six centuries. The beautiful temple which was originally in the hands of Jesuits, now is under the care of the Dominicans. It attracts many pilgrims and tourists who pray in front of the image of Mary and admire the extraordinary beauty of the Basilica.
Among many valuable monuments found in the Jarosław sanctuary, the Altar of the Relics of the Saints should be emphasised. The altar is situated in the southern arm of the transept, and it dates back to the early 18th century. It contains relics from the 4th to the 17th century. It was founded by the Jesuit, Wojciech Rozborski, and it was made in the years 1708-1709, after the church fire of 1707. Its consecration was made on June 12, 2001 by Metropolitan Archbishop Józef Michalik. It is a unique object because it contains nearly 200 relics of saints, blessed, liturgical robes and objects from places of worship. In the altar we can see the relics of, among others, the Holy Father John Paul II, the skeleton of St Teofil – the patron saint of Polish knights, branches and stones from the Garden of Gethsemane.
The relics collected in the altar were placed in geometric, glazed fields against the background of colourful fabrics. They were decorated with silk flowers, golden spirals, precious stones and glass beads, and they bear bands with the names of the Saints and Blessed.